screen saver
as ive seen things shift and form ive come to realize that im not freaking out about senior year. everyone is trying to push it away and keep this "last year as kids" out of their minds.

ive seen 50 year old men be kids ... and ive seen 16 year olds aged more than my grandparents. highschool does not make me a kid. im glad ive realized this because it takes a load off my fretting. im embracing the future instead of cowering.

im looking forward to being able to travel, to meet new people, to have more amazing experiences. there's no way i want to stay where i am when there is so much more for me to feel and hear and understand. there's this whole world outside this bubble of haddon township. this is not my hometown, i cant stay here until i die like so many other people.

i got shit for this. "well arent you going to miss your friends? dont you like it here? how can you be so non-sentimental?"

easy. the people i care about i know ill talk to late into my life. this town is not really super special to me, i havent been here long, i dont have roots here, suburbia bothers me in comparison to the city where i grew up. i like this place in time, but it seems to keep getting better. thus ... my sentiments on life.

i suppose i might change my mind when i toss my cap in 9 months.

we'll see

previous - next
Thursday, Aug. 28, 2003 - 11:47 p.m.
about
I hope nobody still reads this.
older entries
framed - Sunday, Oct. 07, 2007
It won't be Long - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2007
thirteen - Monday, Aug. 13, 2007
graduation - Monday, Apr. 30, 2007
... any takers? - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007