burnout
Apparantly, Americans have a distinct trait of being the only culture to peel the labels off of things. I wonder if this is a cumpulsive American nervous behavior ...

Today I went to lunch with some friends and we played Guess Who?. But the interesting thing was that these guys play by asking questions that have nothing to do with the character's physical traits, but questions regarding their lifestyles and personalities. example: instead of asking "does your person wear glasses?", you would inquire "if your person were to get into an argument, would they be the first to appologize?" or "on Halloween, does your person hand out pennies instead of candy?" or "if your person were to hit Seth Kirschner with their car, would they keep driving?".

The funny thing about this game is that for the most part it really works. Usually someone gets down to one character and they have actually narrowed it all down to the right one without asking a single question regarding what they physically look like. Oddly enough when playing this version you seem to get attached to your character and get defensive about certain questions as if you know them personally. It's hard to explain. We spent the whole drive back arguing about whether or not we thought Bill's wife would leave him, what kind of earrings she wore and whether or not he would appologize and mean it when he was wrong. It's fun to psycho-analyze boardgame characters.

Anyway, I'm having a blast working with this play, The Icehouse. I'm glad that I got my foot in the door with theater here at UDel and hopefully I'll be able to do some shows next year. I'm prop manager, something I've never been before, but I love being part of the production one way or another. It's an amazing show and everyone is so good and funny in it. I love watching it everynight in the balcony with Todd and Marc (the directors) laughing histerically at the same parts over and over again.

I wish I could decide whether or not I was happy here. I think that right now being that I am completely exhausted and ill and worn out that I'm feeling especially vulnerable. I skipped the cast party tonight because I don't want to spend the night with people who I don't know very well and am sick of pretending that I do.

Tomorrow will be just as hectic as today, and the next day, and the day after that ...

I NEED a break ...

previous - next
Saturday, Mar. 12, 2005 - 11:12 p.m.
about
I hope nobody still reads this.
older entries
framed - Sunday, Oct. 07, 2007
It won't be Long - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2007
thirteen - Monday, Aug. 13, 2007
graduation - Monday, Apr. 30, 2007
... any takers? - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007