eve
im not sure where my christmas spirit went. i had it and i was excited about it ... but i lost it again.

maybe its the lack of snow and incessant rain, or perhaps its the fact that its 60 degrees outside right now. or maybe its just that im getting old (oh god i hope thats not it)

i want to go to my grandmothers house full of family members and drink eggnog and laugh and tell stories and sing christmas carols and eat pecan pie and sit around a fireplace and watch the snow fall outside. that seems to me to be christmas. not working christmas eve, coming home to eat a quiet dinner with the family, then come up here to go on the computer until its far to late to stay up anymore then wake up hurry to open presents before we have to jump in the car to go to my grandmothers house to eat soggy vegetables and watch my spoiled rotten cousins opening and breaking their pointless toys and overpriced video game systems, and get a matching purse or necklace from my grandmother because she buys presents in bulk and gives the same thing to everyone and sit there by myself becuase there will be noone there my age or even that i enjoy the company of these days. and i wanted to see peter pan ...

i had a twinge of christmas last night ... tom z, casey and i joined forces again (pat came along for the ride as well) to continue our christmas tradition of admiring obnoxious light displays. one house even had santa sitting there handing out candy canes. it was pure maddness and definitly a good time.

pat made my entire break with his gift. im way too lucky for my own good these days. i can only hope liked my gift as much as i liked his.

off to scoop ice cream at ben and jerry's

previous - next
Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2003 - 11:11 a.m.
about
I hope nobody still reads this.
older entries
framed - Sunday, Oct. 07, 2007
It won't be Long - Thursday, Sept. 27, 2007
thirteen - Monday, Aug. 13, 2007
graduation - Monday, Apr. 30, 2007
... any takers? - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007